Dog Days

20150130_091705Have you ever wondered what dogs would say if they could speak English? I often wonder what my dog is thinking and speak for him. For example, today I was determined to break his habit of sneaking on the couch when no one was looking so I flipped up the cushions. He stood and watched me do this and this is how I imagined our conversation went:

Dog: “Seriously? Is this really necessary?”

Me: “Yes, it’s time you listened. Now go lie on your bed.”

Dog goes reluctantly to his bed and I exit the room.

A few minutes later I re-enter the room to him curled up in the leather chair.

Dog: “Technically, I’m not on the couch.”

And then I imagine him doing a victory dance as I shake my head and laugh.

7 thoughts on “Dog Days

  1. What a sweet looking pooch. I’d like give him a big hug.

    I used to try to keep our dogs off the furniture but eventually just gave up and started covering the couch with a washable quilt that I can remove whenever we have company. In my house, it made things easier and calmer.

  2. Love the post but not so keen on the dog, I’m definitely a cat person and my cats would jump on anything, cushions, backs, tops of cabinets and cupboards. But when I sent them to bed they always went up and laid on my bed. Made life easier when we had company.

Leave a Reply

